When I first heard of our assignment of going a full week without Facebook, I didn’t really have that strong of a reaction. I don’t have a laptop so I rarely ever even go on Facebook on an actual computer. (Also not in the computer labs because you get yelled at by the Librarians, and I also feel like everyone can see me!) I did have the app on my phone but for some reason it stopped working so I deleted it. I would go on quite frequently on my phone through the internet. I wouldn’t really go on for any specific reason; I didn’t update my statuses or comment on anything, it was more of a habit. Before doing something, or a way to procrastinate or occupy my time, I would go on real quick and see what was new. I wasn’t that much of an addict, so I thought this assignment would be a piece of cake me.

I cheated on the very first day, not intentionally, but I was on for a good twenty minutes before I realized I wasn’t supposed to be. I got caught up at looking at someone’s pictures and got a notification on my status, the one that said how I wasn’t going to be on Face Book for a week. Shit. I got off after that and had to make a conscious effort not to go on again.

I actually enjoyed this assignment in a way. Yes, I did miss Facebook and I missed staying “up to date” with things that were going on around me, but it was nice. I use Facebook as a way to stay connected with certain people, but the people that I’m closest with and the ones I most enjoy, are the ones who I text. Yeah there are people who are my Facebook friends that I don’t text but still like to hear from, but this almost made me focus on the most important people in my life and the ones that matter the most to me. I wasn’t bombarded with all the useless information that people post, I wasn’t consumed with stalking people that I don’t like or who I’m secretly in love with. I wasn’t worried when looking at other peoples pictures that they were having more fun than I was. I wasn’t consumed with finding out who was hanging out with whom and who was doing what. Although I’m not consumed as much with these worries as I once was, there is always a twinge of slight jealously, or a twinge of regret when I see things that people posted. Maybe that’s just me and how I am and how I chose to use Facebook. Maybe if I used it more like own personal outlet, like the way I use texting, I would feel the same way, I would feel so disconnected and separated. I think it’s the way we use the medium that shapes the way we feel about it.

The only other time that this became a pain was when I knew my friends went to a concert and I wanted to see the pictures or when I found out something about someone I knew and I wanted to check it out. It was certain things I heard about that made me want to use it. But for the most part I actually really enjoyed it. I don’t really want to go back on! It’s nice not feeling obligated to comment on things or communicating with certain people.

Erin Dennison

Facebook's Mark Zuckerberg

